Being Strong Mentally and Physically

Throughout most of my life I have been an out of shape individual. I wasn’t very strong, my endurance was lacking, and I would be the last person to cross the finish line in a foot race. However, I always dreamt of being a large muscular person like Arnold Schwarzenegger, Silvester Stallone, or the one that inspired me to work out, Tom Hardy as Bane. While Hardy might not be the most appealing, he is by all means imposing. So the summer before Halloween, I figured I would start to work out so that I can dress up as Bane from “The Dark Knight Rises.” I already had the costume, I just needed the size and the bulk. While I had all of it planned in my head, it was a lot harder to execute. Being the size of Hardy required me to do some intense training.

 

The beginning of my training was rough, primarily because I would hardly go to the gym. I’ve always felt self-conscious about myself and that feeling intensified when I was in the gym. The only way I could go was if one of my friends went with me. They said they needed to work out too, so it would be easy to go together. However, things did not always go according to plan. There were many times where my friends were not able to work out, or just didn’t want to. I felt as though I was in a rut. If I did not have anyone to work out with, I’d feel that everyone was judging me.

 

One day for some reason, I don’t know why, I decided to just go to the gym, regardless if someone came with me or not. I went all out on the weights, not caring what anyone thought of me. I started to gain muscle weight and strength. Going from medium size shorts to large. From lifting a small table with help, to doing it by myself. From 165lbs to 205lbs. However, with the size and strength came new found knowledge. Not just knowledge of proper technique and how to train different body parts, but myself as an individual. As I continued to work out, I learned about what I was capable of, what my limits were, and how to push those limits.

 

Thank you,

 

Sean Sang Van Nguyen

Lead Peer Ambassador

First Year Success

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Mondays – 9:00am-12:15pm

Wednesday – 8:00am-12:15pm

Thursday – 8:00am-1:45pm

Friday – 8:00am-5:00am

Office #: 303-352-4195

One Comment Add yours

  1. Janine Martinez says:

    Sean, Physically working out is so wonderful for your mind, spirt and soul, as well as you health!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

